I Am The Avalanche announce new album titled “Wolverines”

Music News | Jan 8th, 2014

No Image
Sorry Folks, No Image Is Here.

Wolverines! Is I Am The Avalanche a fan of the movie Red Dawn or just like the animal? Either way, Wolverines is the name of their new album which will be released on March 18th via I Surrender Records. Pre-order vinyl and CD bundles are now exclusively available through I Surrender Records’ official website here.

Currently, Esquire.com is premiering the first track from Wolverines titled “The Shape I’m In,” whose lyrics, penned by singer Vinnie Caruana, were inspired by a serious physical injury he sustained last year while on tour, and the physical and emotional pain he had to grapple with and overcome. Stream “The Shape I’m In” HERE.

To the members of I Am The Avalanche – Vinnie Caruana (vocals), Brandon Swanson (guitar), Brett “The Ratt” Romnes (drums) and John Oliva (bass) – Wolverines is their most anthemic and cohesive full-length album to date and stands as a fitting body of work to the band’s natural progression. Their self-titled debut record, released in 2005, was the sound of a band finding themselves in the context of their scene that, through their associations, couldn’t help but define them, even if they didn’t want them to. The band’s second album, Avalanche United, was written across a long, drawn-out six-year period, and the uncertainty of their situation during that time pierces that particular record’s constructs.

There were no such problems with Wolverines, however – it’s a powerful record through and through, a complete set of songs that each play a specific and vital part on the album. “I think it’s our most well thought-out and least rushed record,” says Caruana. “Times spent at rock bottom and also feelings of personal triumph have shaped what I feel is the perfect record for us as a band and for our supporters as well.”

Wolverines track listing:

01. Two Runaways
02. 177
03. The Shape I’m In
04. Young Kerouacs
05. Wolverines
06. Anna Lee
07. Save Your Name
08. Where Were You?
09. My Lion Heart
10. One Last Time


, , ,