Lionsgate Announces Employee of the Month Soundtrack

Music News | By on Sep 19th, 2006

No Image Found


Album in Stores September 19 Via Marketing/Promotion/Distribution Deal With SONYBMG’s RED label

First Single, ‘Surrender,’ From Supergroup Camp Freddy Already Being Added to Rock Radio; Group Appears on The Tonight Show With Jay Leno October 5

SANTA MONICA, Calif., Sept. 19 /PRNewswire-FirstCall/ — Lionsgate (NYSE:LGF) announced today the September 19 release of the soundtrack for the film EMPLOYEE OF THE MONTH through a marketing, promotion and distribution deal with SONYBMG’s RED label. The film, scheduled for release October 6th nationwide, stars the chart-topping comedian Dane Cook and multi-platinum recording artist Jessica Simpson. EMPLOYEE OF THE MONTH tells the story of charismatic, well-liked slacker, Zach Bradley (Dane Cook), and his rivalry with the ruthless, Type-A, Vince Downey (Dax Shepard). The arrival of a gorgeous new cashier, Amy Renfro (Jessica Simpson), brings Zach and Vince’s rivalry to a bitter head, and hilarity ensues. The soundtrack boasts a rock/pop line-up that matches the film’s irrepressible energy with songs of unflagging infectiousness.

Said Jay Faires, Lionsgate’s President of Music & Publishing, and the music supervisor for the film, “We worked alongside director Greg Coolidge and producers Andrew Panay & Peter Abrams (WEDDING CRASHERS) to find songs to serve the exuberant spirit of the film. We wanted to juxtapose classic hits with fresh music from new and up-and-coming rock bands.”

The EMPLOYEE OF THE MONTH soundtrack’s lead single, a cover of the Cheap Trick classic, “Surrender,” went for radio airplay on all rock formats last week, and marks the debut of one of the most impressive gatherings of rock ‘n’ roll talent ever-assembled. Camp Freddy features three decades worth of rock stars: Scott Weiland, current member of Velvet Revolver and formerly of Stone Temple Pilots, on vocals; Dave Navarro, of CBS’ Rock Star and formerly of Jane’s Addiction, on guitar; and Matt Sorum, of Velvet Revolver and formerly of Guns N’ Roses, on drums. Besides “Surrender,” the band also recorded a rocking rendition of the T. Rex classic, “Twentieth Century Boy,” for the soundtrack. Guns N’ Roses producer Mike Clink and Red Hot Chili Peppers’ engineer, Andrew Sheppe, worked with the group on both tracks. The band makes its national television debut the night before EMPLOYEE OF THE MONTH’s October 6th release, on The Tonight Show with Jay Leno. It doesn’t seem like hyperbole to say that a group featuring such celebrated talent becomes legendary as soon as they enter their practice space.

EMPLOYEE OF THE MONTH’s other three focus tracks, “Cobrastyle” by Teddybears featuring Mad Cobra, “Face Down,” by Red Jump Suit Apparatus, and “Do It Alone” by Sugarcult, more than hold their own alongside the legends. Last week, “Cobrastyle” had already cracked KROQ’s top-five. The song comes early in the film but its high-energy, genre-transcending catchiness makes sure that it keeps playing in the viewers’ mental jukebox long past the film’s closing credits. New Virgin Records chart-climbers Red Jump Suit Apparatus’ “Face Down” has been all over MTV 2 and its impassioned pop-punk fits naturally in the film and on the soundtrack. V2’s new top priority, Sugarcult, offers a bittersweet anthem that perfectly matches Zach Bradley’s defiant enthusiasm in the face of the potentially dispiriting obstacles that life throws his way. In the past two weeks, songs from both Sugarcult and the Teddybears have been prominently featured on iTunes.

The album tracks on EMPLOYEE OF THE MONTH’s soundtrack could easily stand-up as singles in their own right. “Trainwreck,” a track from youthful up-and-comers The Sammies blends punky-catchiness and bar-room rock ‘n’ roll to forge a sound that recalls a less-grizzled Replacements or a gruffer Lemonheads. The song plays during one of the film’s climactic scenes and helps to make it one of the films most memorable. This track appears only on the digital release of the soundtrack, and the band has a second track in the film called “Coming Out Wild,” which appears on the physical release. The soundtrack also includes musical excerpts from the film’s score by John Swihart, famed amongst young and rock music consumers for his score to the acclaimed film NAPOLEON DYNAMITE.

The last week of this month, Dane Cook, whose HBO specials, late night television appearances, and live performances all over the country have earned him legions of fans, will be appearing on several of America’s top local and national morning radio shows, and he will be taping a one-hour special that will air on rock, alternative, and mainstream Clear Channel radio stations during the first week of October. It features the same energetic brand of comedy that made his sophomore CD/DVD the highest charting comedy album in twenty-five years.

Following is a complete track listing:

1. Teddybears featuring Mad Cobra “Cobrastyle”
2. Sugarcult “Do it Alone”
3. Red Jumpsuit Apparatus “Face Down”
4. Camp Freddy “Surrender”
5. The Sammies “Coming Out Wild”
6. Hard-Fi “Hard to Beat”
7. REO Speedwagon “Can’t Fight This Feeling”
8. Highwater Rising featuring Aidan Hawken “Wasted Days”
9. Santino “Kiss You All Over”
10. Camp Freddy “Twentieth Century Boy”
11. John Swihart “Disco Boy / Anal / Covered in Chocolate / Taking A Dump
/ The Sh***er is Clogged”
12. John Swihart “Pocket Rocket”
13. The Sammies “Trainwreck” (digital album release only)