Nerf Herder Releasing Their New Album” Rockingham” Next Week

Music News | By on Mar 4th, 2016

Nerf Herder

Those scruffy-looking geek rockers Nerf Herder will be releasing a new album next week (March 11th) and it’s called Rockingham. It will be released on their own new album Golfshirt Records. is streaming a new tune if you want to get a sneak peek before next week.

“I’m a huge Rush fan!,” says vocalist/guitarist Parry Gripp. “I spent a whole year of high school listening only to Rush, because at the time I felt all other music was inferior. My dream was to meet an actual girl who listened to Rush.”

In order to go full-fanboy, Parry and band tracked down the actual mixing board, a Trident A console from Le Studio in Quebec that was relocated to a studio in Van Nuys, CA, that Rush used to record many of their greatest songs. From there the band recorded the basic tracks for “The Girl Who Listened To Rush.”

“Steve (Sherlock) pulled out all of the stops on this song To get the Neil Peart feel,” Gripp adds. “He brought in all kinds of percussion – temple blocks, chimes, roto-toms, and giant gong! He went nuts with it!”

Nerf Herder’s 5th album Rockingham is an explosion of geekness with songs like “At The Con,” a song written after a performance at DragonCon last year, “Ghostbusters III,” a lamenting tune about how the sequel will never be released, and “I’m The Droid (You’re Looking For),” which is made entirely of lines from Star Wars and was recorded at Skywalker Ranch.

Fans can catch the band live at their hometown show in Santa Barbara on April 5th and at their album release show in West Hollywood on April 8th.

Nerf Herder Tour Dates:
April 5 – Santa Barbara, CA – Velvet Jones
April 8 – West Hollywood, CA – Troubadour (Record Release Party w/Fartbarf, Allie Goertz and Geezer)

Rockingham Track List:
1. Portland
2. At The Con
3. The Girl Who Listened To Rush
4. Allie Goertz
5. We Opened For Weezer
6. Jackie Got Married
7. I’m The Droid (You’re Looking For)
8. Ghostbusters III
9. Doctor Who
10. Stock Photo Girl
11. Close Your Eyes And Dream


, , , , ,