Russ Rankin streams brand-new song “American Amnesia”

Music News | May 31st, 2012

Good Riddance/Only Crime frontman Russ Rankin has a solo album “Farewell Catalonia” coming out on August 7th. Paper + Plastick Records premiered a song on YouTube yesterday. The song is pretty good, even though it’s done by a Devils fan.

Paper + Plastick Records is excited to announce today that it will be releasing the first solo full-length record from Good Riddance/Only Crime frontman Russ Rankin. Rankin’s debut will be titled Farewell Catalonia and it will be released on August 7. Check out the tracklisting below.

You can stream a brand-new song from the album right now via the label’s YouTube account. It’s called “American Amnesia” and it’s the third track on the record.

The album was recorded over the course of February 2012 at Buzzbomb Sound Labs (Orange, CA) with engineer Paul Miner. Most of the tracks feature a blend of acoustic and electric guitar with some keys, strings and minimal percussion added as well.

“Recording a solo album is completely different than recording with a band. I learned a lot about my strengths and weaknesses both as a songwriter and a guitar player,” Rankin says. “Watching these songs, which had gestated purely from myself with no collaboration, develop and grow has been an incredible experience.”

Farewell Catalonia is a series of fleshed-out, whole-sounding songs, and a debut that retains Rankin’s punk roots while showing a different side of him on a musical plane. It takes after alt-country, with Rankin’s vocals providing the focus point over twangy guitars and a wide range of dynamic new sounds on the record.


1. Pushing Daisies
2. Departures
3. American Amnesia
4. Points Between
5. This Is What We Get
6. Cold Blues
7. Flesh and Bone
8. Get A Room
9. Indivisible
10. When I Pray
11. Shine
12. Under the Hours


, , ,