SonyBMG to release tour edition of Lou Reed’s ‘Berlin’

Music News | May 31st, 2007

No Image
Sorry Folks, No Image Is Here.


Lou Reed is touring Europe in June performing his classic 1973 ‘Berlin’ album with a 30-piece ensemble including a string section, horn section, a children’s choir and his core rock band. To coincide with this ultra rare tour, SonyBMG will release a limited edition digitally remastered tour edition of Berlin’ in special digipack packaging. The “Berlin Tour Edition” will include original artwork and liner notes, and will be a one-off manufacturing run only.


1. Berlin

2. Lady Day

3. Men Of Good Fortune

4. Caroline Says

5. How Do You Think It Feels

6. Oh Jim

7. Caroline Says

8. Kids

9. Bed

10. Sad Song

Lou will be performing three ‘Berlin’ concerts in the UK – Manchester International Festival on Friday 29th June, London Hammersmith Apollo on Saturday 30th June and Sunday 1st July.

After the success of his glam-rockish Transformer’, the expectation was that Lou Reed would plough deeper into commercial territory. Berlin’ is a song cycle that uses the decadence of its name sake and some Brecht/Weill-esque orchestrations to tell a story of two psychically damaged people and their doomed relationship.

Far from the rock-star poses of Transformer’, Berlin’ is lyrically and musically frank and blunt. The arrangements move from sophisticated, arch orchestration to naked-sounding acoustic sparseness, but the words are uniformly unflinching in their depiction of violence, addiction, and desperation. Berlin’ is a harrowing journey, and one of Reed’s most compelling albums.