The Adolescents releasing a new album in February

Music News | Dec 10th, 2014

The Adolescents

Punk band The Adolescents will be releasing a new album, La Vendetta… è un piatto che va servito freddo, to celebrate their 35th anniversary as a band. They will be reuniting with Frontier Records for their first album of new music together since their debut “The Blue Album”! You can pre-order the new album over at

The Adolescents who helped establish the blueprint for Orange County punk rock according to All Music Guide, announced today they are celebrating the 35th anniversary as a band with the release of their new album La Vendetta… è un piatto che va servito freddo released on Tuesday February 10, 2015 via the independent label Frontier Records. This is the first new music The Adolescents have released on Frontier Records since their iconic ‘blue album’ debut in 1981.

Formed in January 1980 in Fullerton, Ca., The Adolescents (highlighted by core members’ Singer Tony Reflex and Bassist Steve Soto) are as fiery today as they ever were. La Vendetta… è un piatto che va servito freddo (a Sicilian phrase meaning “Revenge is a dish best served cold”) features sixteen tracks of the aggressive hardcore punk rock the band is known for. Loud, fast rules! The band’s socially conscious lyrics tackle hot button topics like police brutality, social injustice, the nuclear meltdown at the Fukushima Daiichi power plan in Japan and standing up for your rights.

In fact, the La Vendetta… è un piatto che va servito freddo artwork is a statement in itself. The Orange County band is still furious over the Kelly Thomas beating death by Fullerton police in 2011 so they commissioned Mario Rivera, a Madrid-based artist, to design the album cover that conveys their outrage. The cover features a devil-horned piñata head of ex-Fullerton cop Manuel Ramos (shaded in a piggish hue of pink) and a homeless man wielding a stick, ready to take a whack at the piñata, much to the delight of more homeless people in the background. In light of recent events in Ferguson, Mo. and New York City, this LP cover puts the band front and center in the national debate about the roles of lethal force and law enforcement in modern day America.

Track listing for La Vendetta… è un piatto che va servito freddo includes:
01. Monolith At The Mountlake Terrace
02. A Dish Best Served Cold
03. Bulletproof
04. Double Down
05. Fukushima Lemon Twist
06. The Last Laugh
07. 30 Seconds To Malibu
08. Silent Water
09. Talking To Myself
10. Formula 13
11. Rinse Cycle
12. Ricochet Heart
13. Nothing Left To Say
14. Sludge
15. Sanctuary & The High Cost Of Misery
16. Let It Go

The Adolescents are one of the most popular punk bands playing a huge role in the punk rock explosion in Southern California in the early ‘80s. In 1981 they released their self-titled debut album (a/k/a The Blue Album) that would become one of the most influential So Cal punk albums of all time. Along with Bad Brains, Black Flag and Minor Threat, the Adolescents remain one of the most respected bands of the 1980s hardcore/skate punk scene. They were voted the N° 1 best Orange County band of all time by OC Weekly. This is the band’s seventh studio album.

Tour dates and a record release show in support of La Vendetta… è un piatto che va servito freddo will be announced shortly.


, , ,