The Menzingers Announce New Album “After The Party”

Music News | Oct 27th, 2016


The Menzingers will release their 5th full-length album entitled After the Party on February 3rd 2017 via Epitaph Records. The follow-up to Rented World is now available for pre-orders here. You can hear their single “Bad Catholics” below. The band will be playing 3 in-store acoustic performances and signing events during the week of record release. February 1st at Vintage Vinyl in Fords, NJ, February 2end at Looney Tunes in West Babylon, NY, and February 4th at Gallery of Sound in Wilkes Barre, PA. On October 29th, The Menzingers will perform at The Fest in Gainesville, Florida.

Produced by Will Yip (Title Fight, Balance & Composure, Pianos Become the Teeth), After the Party taps into the Menzingers’ everyman romanticism to reflect on getting older but not quite growing up. Throughout the album, singer/guitarists Greg Barnett and Tom May, bassist Eric Keen, and drummer Joe Godino offset that deeply nuanced songwriting with anthemic harmonies, furious power chords, and larger-than-life melodies.

“We spent our 20s living in a rowdy kind of way, and now we’re at a point where it seems like everyone in our lives is moving in different directions,” says May of the inspiration behind After the Party. Adds Barnett: “We’re turning 30 now, and there’s this idea that that’s when real life comes on. In a way this album is us saying, ‘We don’t have to grow up or get boring—we can keep on having a good time doing what we love.’” “Bad Catholics” follows the release of After the Party’s lead single “Lookers,” which premiered on Noisey in August.

The Menzingers formed as teenagers in their hometown of Scranton in 2006, then later relocated to Philadelphia. The band made their Epitaph debut with 2012’s On The Impossible Past, which was voted Album of the Year by Absolute Punk and Punk News. Released in 2014, Rented World was praised as “packed with clever songwriting” by The New York Times and “a colossal fist-pumper” by Stereogum.

after the party

1. Tellin’ Lies
2. Thick as Thieves
3. Lookers
4. Midwestern States
5. Charlie’s Army
6. House on Fire
7. Black Mass
8. Boy Blue
9. Bad Catholics
10. Your Wild Years
11. The Bars
12. After the Party
13. Livin’ Ain’t Easy


, ,