The Wailers celebrating “Legend” this summer

Music News | By on May 8th, 2014

The Wailers

The Wailers will be celebrating the 30th anniversary of Bob Marley and The Wailers’ iconic compilation album Legend this summer. The Wailers will be playing Legend from start to finish plus some other Wailers songs this Spring and Summer. They will be hitting the Brooklyn Bowl in Brooklyn on May 13th (next week). Obviously it won’t be with Bob Marley but Dwayne “Danglin” Anglin and Kevin “Yvad” Davy will be taking up lead vocal duties.

Reggae music has never stopped evolving but for millions of people from around the world it’s still defined by the songs of Bob Marley and the Wailers. It’s been their heartbeat rhythms that have inspired so much of what’s followed since, as evidenced by the enduring popularity of the “one-drop” reggae sound.

The world’s most iconic reggae band The Wailers are currently touring the US, performing the prominent album Legend in its entirety. As they infiltrated reggae music to the world outside of Jamaica, its birth place, The Wailers celebrate their 30th anniversary of the album Legend. Named by Time Magazine as the “Best Album of the 20th Century” and #46 on Rolling Stone Magazine’s 500 Greatest Albums of All Time, Legend is also the best selling reggae album of all time, with over 30 million copies sold worldwide.

The Wailers have consistently toured for the past 40 years, and in doing so, have been keeping the legacy of Bob Marley alive. They are the most successful reggae group in history, having sold over 250 million albums worldwide and played to an estimated 25 million people around the world. They have left an indelible mark on modern music. After touring in South America, Russia, Middle East, and Europe, The Wailers are eager to bring their good vibrations to festivals and venues across the country this summer.

Formed in the late sixties, The Wailers have created an extraordinary body of work and their music can be heard in every corner of the world today. Original members included Bob Marley and his vocal partners Bunny Wailer and Peter Tosh, alongside the ground-breaking rhythm section of the Barrett brothers, Carlton on drums and Aston “Family Man” on bass. Today, Aston leads the band as it continues its worldwide campaign to promote peace, love and equality through the message of reggae and Rastafari.

The Wailers Tour Dates

Friday, May 9 Harvester Performance Center Rocky Mount, VA
Saturday, May 10 H Lounge @ Hollywood Casino Toledo, OH
Tuesday, May 13 Brooklyn Bowl Brooklyn, NY
Wednesday, May 14 Avalon Theatre Easton, MD
Friday, May 16 Flying Monkey Plymouth, NH
Saturday, May 17 Earthfest Boston, MA
Sunday, May 18 The Ridgefield Playhouse Ridgefield, CT
Thursday, May 21 Innsbrook Pavilion Glen Allen, VA
Friday, May 22 Stage AE Pittsburgh, PA
Saturday, May 23 The Paramount Theater Huntington, NY
Sunday, May 24 The Social Atlantic City, NJ
Monday, May 25 Dark Star Jubilee Thornville, OH
Tuesday, May 26 Sands Bethlehem Event Center Bethlehem, PA
Wednesday, May 28 Blue Fox Billiards Winchester, VA
Thursday, May 29 9:30 Club Washington, DC
Friday, May 30 Hampton Beach Casino Ballroom Hampton Beach, NH
Saturday, May 31 Newport Yachting Center Newport, Rhode Island
Wednesday, June 11 Neptune’s Park @31st Street Virginia Beach, VA
Thursday, June 12 Kelly’s Outer Banks Restaurant Nags Head, NC
Friday, June 13 Ziggy’s By The Sea Wilmington, NC
Saturday, June 14 Ham’s Downtown Greensboro, NC
Wednesday, July 2 Milwaukee Summerfest Milwaukee, WI
Thursday, July 3 Marin County Fair San Rafael, CA
Saturday, July 5 Verizon Wireless Amphitheater Maryland Heights, MO
Sunday, July 6 Freedom Hill Amphitheater Sterling Heights, MI
Monday, July 7 LC Pavilion Columbus, OH
Wednesday, July 9 Common Ground Music Festival Lansing, MI
Thursday, July 10 Majestic Theatre Madison, WI
Sunday, July 13 Taste of Chicago Chicago, IL
Thursday, July 17 Saban Theatre Beverly Hills, CA
Saturday, July 19 Junior Seau Pier Amphitheater Oceanside, CA
Sunday, July 20 The Coach House San Juan Cap., CA

Topics:

, , , ,