White Wives’ (featuring members of Anti-Flag) debut album out June 28th

Music News | May 24th, 2011

Following their EP Situationist earlier this year, White Wives’ debut LP, Happeners, will be released June 28 on Adeline Records. Inspired by the mid-60s Provo movement, a counterculture movement that used nonviolence and absurd humor to provoke violent reactions from the police, the album bears the title of the movement leaders.

This quartet brings together Western Pennsylvanian natives Anti-Flag’s Chris “#2” Barker and Chris Head, Roger Harvey of Dandelion Snow and Tyler Kweder of American Armada. While they share a hometown, they have as many creative and ideological similarities as they do differences. “I think our varying influences are what helps create the sound and aesthetic of White Wives,” offers “2”. “I grew up listening to a lot of music from the mid nineties: Nirvana, Pixies.” Harvey, on the other hand, cites traditional literary songwriters: “Neil Young, Townes Van Zandt, Gram Parsons. Of course Dylan and Woody Guthrie.” The diversity of inspiration speaks volumes about their creative origins, and serves as a reminder to set pre-conceived notions aside and allow the music to be the voice. The collection of 11 tracks range from high-gain electric rock n’ roll, to punk/indie rock, to carefully orchestrated acoustic songs.

White Wives is not, nor was ever intended as a side project. “I think that anyone who goes into listening to our record believing that it is an Anti-Flag ‘side project’ is going to be surprised and to be honest, perhaps a bit shocked,” affirms #2. The band will tour in support of the release, beginning in June, alongside quintet Touche Amore and Balance & Composure. They promise to bring a raucous live show – the stage is left in disarray after every set.

Happeners Track List

1. Indian Summer, Indian Summer
2. Sky Started Crying
3. Hungry Ghost
4. Spinning Wheels
5. Paper Chaser
6. Another City For A New Weekend
7. Hallelujah, I’m Mourning
8. Grow So Wild & Free
9. The Devil’s Alibi
10. Let It Go
11. Like A Runaway Slave


June 24 – Pittsburgh, PA – 222 Ormsby/record release show *
June 26 – Altoona, PA – The Archway Center
June 27 – Cincinnati, OH – Bogart’s
June 28 – Toledo, OH – Frankies
June 29 – Grand Rapids, MI – Pyramid Scheme
June 30 – DeKalb, IL – House Café
July 1 – Des Moines, IA – Vaudeville Mews
July 2 – Minneapolis, MN – Triple Rock Social Club
* without Touche Amore


, , , , , ,