Greenland Whalefishers – “Looney Tunes EP”

Album Reviews | By on Mar 23rd, 2015

Greenland Whalefishers Looney Tunes EP

Record Label: Patchwork Record Productions
Genre: Celtic
Band Link:
Buy on

I don’t normally review 3 songs but since it’s Greenland Whalefishers, why not! The Norwegian Celtic punk band will be releasing a new full-length in the Spring and this is just a nice appetizer for fans until the new album is released.

“Looney Tunes” is the first track and it’s an awesome tune! A heavier song in parts with wailing guitars but I love it. Just the right amount of flute, Celtic-ness and snarl from Arvid. “Afraid” is the slow track on the EP but I’ve always been a fan of the slower tunes as well as the fast ones. Something about The Pogues and GWF where the slow tunes just sound so damn good. It’s the kind of song where you grab your girl or buddy around the shoulder and rock back and forth at a show. Things pick up again with the final track is “20 Years of Waiting.” If you’ve seen the band’s documentary of the same name, you might have heard this song. You can watch the full documentary on the band’s youtube channel here.

It’s been 5 years since we got anything new from Greenland Whalefishers in the studio. There was the live album in 2012 but nothing since then besides these new teases each month last year. The result of those teases is this new album that is coming out later this spring but for now, until the new album is out, this should hold people over!

Bottom Line: A nice appetizer until GWF release their new album
Notable Tracks: all 3 tracks
Overall Rating:


, , , ,