Descendents Announce New Album ‘9th & Walnut’ For July 23rd

Music News | May 4th, 2021

No Image
Sorry Folks, No Image Is Here.

Punk band Descendents have announced a new album called 9th & Walnut which features the original lineup (bassist Tony Lombardo, drummer Bill Stevenson, guitarist Frank Navetta [died in 2008], and vocalist Milo Aukerman). The album was started back in 2002 and finished up during the pandemic in 2020. 9th & Walnut will be released on July 23rd via Epitaph Records.

Rolling Stone has a good featured piece on the album.

Named for their Long Beach practice space back in the day, the 18-track collection features the bands’ earliest material written from 1977 through 1980. The collection also includes Descendents’ debut tracks “Ride the Wild” & ”It’s a Hectic World” (heard here for the first time with vocals by Milo), and the Dave Clark Five’s “Glad All Over” with the full Descendents treatment.

Drummer Bill Stevenson recalls the album making process:

“’Baby Doncha Know’ was maybe the 5th song we learned. “We would go out to 9th & Walnut every weekend and practice all day. I mainly just remember being in awe of how ‘a kid my age, who goes to my high school’ could have written all these cool songs. Frank seemed to have a maturity beyond his years. I never asked him who or what it was about. I was just happy to be there with him and Tony”

1. Sailor’s Choice
2. Crepe Suzette
3. You Make Me Sick
4. Lullaby
5. Nightage
6. Baby Doncha Know
7. Tired of Being Tired
8. I’m Shaky
9. Grudge
10. Mohicans
11. Like the Way I Know
12. It’s A Hectic World
13. To Remember
14. Yore Disgusting
15. It’s My Hair
16. I Need Some
17. Ride the Wild
18. Glad All Over​ (Dave Clark Five cover)


, , , , , , ,