LeATHERMOUTH’s XO set to debut January 27th on Epitaph

Music News | Dec 2nd, 2008

No Image
Sorry Folks, No Image Is Here.


Frank Iero (My Chemical Romance) And Mates Set To Release Debut January 27th

New Jersey hardcore group LeATHERMOUTH will release their debut album XO on January 27th via Epitaph. Featuring My Chemical Romance rhythm guitarist Frank Iero on vocals and Rob Hughes on guitar along with various friends, LeATHERMOUTH are ready to show the world how pissed off they are.

Frank Iero has had enough. After years of keeping anger and rage bottled up, he can no longer contain it. In 2007, Iero, guitarist of the hugely popular rock band My Chemical Romance, reached his tipping point and created LeATHERMOUTH with Rob Hughes, a friend from Iero s home state of New Jersey.

I think there is a void of bands that are outspoken on things that actually matter, explains Iero. There s too much bad hair and white belts. Sometimes it nice to turn your brain off and just listen to someone sing about girls. I m not knocking it. I do think there is a time and a place. But LeATHERMOUTH isn t like that…it s about hate. Hate that boils up inside and eats away at you, if you don t vomit it up you know it will eventually destroy you.

Tired of the misdirected blame in school shootings, overmedicating kids and nefarious politicians among other things, Iero viciously explodes with pent up frustration on XO, spewing his aggression out in a rapid fire succession. XO is a call to action with thick speeding rock riffs inciting listeners with brutal hostility, inculcating a sense of urgency with the controversial track Catch Me If you Can, which likens the NYPD to Jack the Ripper, Sunsets Are For Muggings, about being robbed of your childhood by drugs and therapy and 5th Period Massacre, which points the finger at bullying students as the cause a school shooting.

I would say this record is about trying to wake people up to what is happening right in front of their eyes, Iero continues. We are all trying our hardest to pretend bad things don t happen to good people, and that there is some higher power looking over us…but it s bullshit. Stop covering your children s eyes. Everything is fucked, and pretending it s not isn t making things any better. I m tired of people praying for a change when it s up to them to get off their asses and make a change.

LeATHERMOUTH will be touring sporadically in support of XO in 2009, in between Frank s duties to My Chemical Romance.

XO Tracklisting:

1. 5th Period Massacre – 2:16
2. Catch Me If You Can – 2:31
3. This Song Is About Being Attacked By Monsters – 2:40
4. I Am Going To Kill The President Of The United States Of America – 2:59
5. Murder Was The Case That They Gave Me – 2:47
6. Sunsets Are For Muggings – 1:57
7. My Lovenote Has Gone Flat – 2:21
8. Your Friends Are Full Of Shit – 2:07
9. Bodysnatchers 4 Ever – 2:11
10. Leviathan – 2:12

12/4 The Station Portland, ME
12/5 Lupo s Heartbreak Hotel Providence, RI
12/6 Starland Ballroom Sayerville, NJ
12/7 Toad s Place New Haven, CT