Music Video: Ben Kweller – ‘The Rules’

Music News | Sep 25th, 2008

No Image
Sorry Folks, No Image Is Here.


Digital-only “Choke” soundtrack now available on ATO Records

“Choke” hits theaters nationwide Friday, September 26

The creators of “CHOKE” are proud to announce the new music video clip that features Ben Kweller’s “The Rules,” his contribution to the film’s soundtrack. As a collection of snapshots spotlighting a few of the film’s notable scenes, “The Rules” compliments the film’s unbelievably quirky personality through Kweller’s hard-edged, guitar-heavy offering.

The album, a digital-only release on ATO Records, contains seven songs from the film and eight others that are significant to actor, director and screen writer Clark Gregg’s vision while he was making it. Highlights include previously recorded songs by the likes of Radiohead, Death Cab For Cutie, My Morning Jacket, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah!, The Fiery Furnaces, and The Twilights Singers. Most notable additions are the previously unreleased or rare tracks that appear on the record, among them “Orgasm Addict” by The Buzzcocks as sung by the band’s original singer Howard Devoto, a great version of The Doors’ “Crystal Ship” by the incomparable Nicole Atkins and The Sea, and the original version by The Natural History of Spoon’s current hit single, “Don’t You Ever.”

Fox Searchlight Pictures and ATO Pictures present “Choke,” a Contrafilm/ATO Pictures Production, based on the novel by maverick author Chuck Palahniuk (“Fight Club”). Actor-turned-director Gregg shows he is as adept behind the camera as he is in front of it with this wickedly comedic tale of Victor Mancini, con artist, sex addict, Colonial village re-enactor, angst-filled son, serial restaurant choker — and unsuspecting romantic antihero for our unsettling times.

The film will be in theatres on September 26 and features an ensemble cast including Sam Rockwell, Anjelica Huston, Kelly Macdonald, Brad William Henke and Jonah Bobo. Nathan Larson composed the score.

Ben Kweller – “The Rules”
The Natural History – “Don’t You Ever” (rare)
Fiery Furnaces – “Navy Nurse”
Radiohead – “Reckoner”
Alap Momin – “Sin Terror”
Clap Your Hands Say Yeah – “Satan Said Dance”
Buzzcocks – “Orgasm Addict” (rare)
Death Cab For Cutie – “No Sunlight”
Blitzen Trapper – “Wicked” (unreleased)
Ms. Tyree Sugar Jones – “If You Feel It”
My Morning Jacket – “Touch Me I’m Going To Scream Pt 1”
Shout Out Louds – “Bicycle” (rare)
Twilight Singers – “There’s Been An Accident”
Nicole Atkins – “Crystal Ship” (unreleased)