New Model Army Announce New Album “From Here” and Tour

Music News | May 14th, 2019

No Image
Sorry Folks, No Image Is Here.

New Model Army have announced their new album will be out August 23rd and it will be called From Here. It will be released on earMUSIC. The UK band have also announced a bunch of UK and European tour dates in support of the release. No idea when the band will be playing the US again but hopefully soon!

In October 1980, three musicians took to the stage in their hometown of Bradford to play a gig under the name New Model Army. Led by frontman and songwriter Justin Sullivan, this was the start of a remarkable journey which, almost 40 years on, has seen New Model Army develop a fervent worldwide fanbase and reach multiple milestones of both creative and commercial success.

Members have changed over the years and musical styles have evolved but at the heart of the band. Sullivan has remained, along with a distinct and sincere belief in the power of music to inspire and effect change on a personal and political scale, both locally and globally. With the band’s hugely acclaimed albums Between Dog And Wolf (2013) and Winter (2016) bringing renewed critical appreciation, chart success and an ever-growing audience of new fans to join the legion of faithful devotees, New Model Army return in 2019 with one of the finest records of their career.

From Here was recorded earlier this year on the tiny Norwegian island of Giske at the beautiful Ocean Sound Recordings studio. It reflects the spectacular isolation of that environment yet has profound messages for the world we all live in and the times we are experiencing.

“We all have different lives and different tastes in almost everything, including music,” says the band. “One thing we have in common is the love of bleak, open, cold, rugged landscapes — water, snow, rock. So this was the perfect place for us to work on something collectively — at all times while we were working, we could look up and see the sky, the sea, and melting snow on the mountains, all in a constant state of change.

“So, this album has a feel that is different to our other albums, but it still contains all the elements that characterize our peculiarly unidentifiable music — perhaps even more than ever. And From Here was an obvious title. The record belongs to a very special place and a particular time: what is happening in the world, where we are as a band. and where we are as people.”

“Passing Through”
“Never Arriving”
“The Weather”
“End of Days”
“Great Disguise”
“Where I Am”
“Hard Way”
“Watch and Learn”
“Setting Sun”
“From Here”

Tour Dates:
8 Oct Southampton (UK)
09 Oct Paris (FR)
10 Oct Dortmund (DE)
11 Oct Hamburg (DE)
12 Oct Berlin (DE)
13 Oct Poznan (PL)
15 Oct Gdynia (PL)
16 Oct Warsaw (PL)
17 Oct Wrocław (PL)
18 Oct Krakow (PL)
19 Oct Budapest (HU)
20 Oct TBA
22 Oct Winterthur (CH)
23 Oct Fribourg (CH)
24 Oct Freiburg (DE)
25 Oct Münich (DE)
26 Oct Stuttgart (DE)
27 Nurnburg (DE)
29 Dresden (DE)
30 Oct Frankfurt (DE)
31 Oct Losheim (DE)

01 Nov Rijkovorsel (BE)
02 Nov Strasbourg (FR)
13 Nov Bristol (UK)
14 Nov London (UK)
15 Nov Cambridge (UK)
16 Nov Leeds (UK)
17 Nov Cardiff (UK)
19 Nov Chester (UK)
20 Nov Newcastle (UK)
21 Nov Edinburgh (UK)
22 Nov Manchester (UK)
23 Nov Birmingham (UK)
30 Nov Istanbul (TR)

12 Dec Brighton (UK)
13 Dec Amsterdam (NL)
14 Dec Köln (DE)
21 Dec Nottingham (UK)


, , , , ,