Skinny Lister announce new album “Down On Deptford Broadway”

Music News | Feb 18th, 2015

No Image
Sorry Folks, No Image Is Here.

Xtra Mile Recordings signed London-based folk band Skinny Lister and will be releasing their forthcoming sophomore album titled “Down On Deptford Broadway.” The new album will be released on April 21st and they premiered a new music video from the new album the other day. It’s for the song called “Cathy” and the music video will probably make you want to throw up. It certainly made the band members puke.

Following the band’s successful run on the 2012 Vans Warped Tour, their well-received appearance at SXSW that year, and the release of its debut album, Forge & Flagon (SideOneDummy Records), Skinny Lister have continued to cause chaos and make friends and fans, traveling to the four corners of the globe delivering their unique blend of English folk and punk rock anarchy. From Japan’s Fuji Rock Festival to the desert stage of California’s prestigious Coachella, via the Avalon Stage at Glastonbury and many a festival across Europe and beyond, Skinny Lister have proven themselves to be a live experience never to be forgotten.

On the heels of the impression Skinny Lister left after the release of Forge & Flagon, the band descended on the historic Rockfield Studios in Wales in December 2013 to record their second album, Down On Deptford Broadway, with notable producer Ted Hutt. Taking a more urban slant, the LP takes in city-wide pub crawls (“Six Whiskies”), hazy lock-ins (“George’s Glass”), the struggles of modern living (“This Is War”) and, on the Clash-esque first single, “Trouble On Oxford Street,” a real-life fight that Hepinstall had in the West End. Between their Celtic swings, romantic folk balladry and grand sway-along anthems, Skinny Lister have taken on a host of fresh inflections, from Costello to Tenpole Tudor. “We’re trying to push forward the sound we had before,” singer and mandolin player Max Thomas said. “We don’t want to be a static band that just does this – we want to move with whatever influences are going on around us all the time. We might end up being a band that’s got quite a different feel to each album.”

Skinny Lister will be touring North America in 2015, including a visit to Austin, TX in March for the SXSW Music and Arts Festival. Tour dates and live appearances to be announced shortly.

Down On Deptford Broadway tracklisting:

01. Raise A Wreck
02. Trouble On Oxford Street
03. George’s Glass
04. What Can I Say?
05. Cathy
06. Six Whiskies
07. This Is War
08. Ten Thousand Voices
09. Bonny Away
10. Bold As Brass
11. This City
12. The Dreich

Pre-order the album at iTunes.


, , , ,