“Vans Warped Tour 2005 Compilation”

Album Reviews | Jul 7th, 2005

No Image
Sorry Folks, No Image Is Here.

Record Label: Side One Dummy
Band Link:
Buy on Amazon.com

It’s another year, and it’s that time for another Warped Tour compilation. The CD is filled with 50 songs over 2 discs. Usually they put all the bands I like on one CD but this time it’s spread out. Some of the bands on Disc 1 are MxPx, Dropkick Murphys, The Offspring, Hot Water Music, Street Dogs, NUFAN, The Unseen, and Big D. The album starts off with MxPx’s “The Darkest Places,” which is off their “Panic” album. After that, comes Dropkick Murphys’ “Sunshine Highway,” which is one of the best songs off their new album “The Warriors’ Code.” Probably because I think it sounds very Pogue-ish.

Like any Warped comp, there’s a bunch of bands I just don’t want to listen to. Mainly because they are a bunch of whiny, tight black shirt wearing screamo, post hardcore bands who used to be in a ska band. Disc 2 starts off with a brand new Pennywise song called “Yell Out!” and it sounds awesome! I can’t wait to hear the new album. Flogging Molly are next and have a live track for “Selfish Man.” That song is excellent live and makes you want to fuck shit up! Other bands I liked on Disc 2 were Millencolin, Bedouin Soundclash, Halifax, Go Betty and Strung Out. The rest of the disc I couldn’t take. Why can’t the scene be the way it was like it was back in the 90’s?

Bottom Line: Usual Warped Tour comp. Some good bands but the rest of them suck.
Notable Tracks: Sunshine Highway, You Alone, Weapons of Mass Destruction, Yell It, Selfish Man (Live), Ray, Gyasi Went Home, Saturday
Overall Rating: