Music Video: PUP – “Mabu”

Media | By on Sep 24th, 2014

PUP Mabu music video

PUP’s newest music video for “Mabu” premiered on SPIN today. The video consists of the band wrecking a car and driving it in a demolition derby. Just drive the car in Jersey City, it will get wrecked or stolen before you know it!

When singer/guitarist Stefan Babcock realized his most prized possession, a beat up champagne-colored 96’ Toyota Camry named Mabu, was on its last leg, he knew he had to send her out in style. So naturally, he signed Mabu up for a real demolition derby and the rest is… well, just watch the video!

Directed by Menno Versteeg of Canadian indie rock band Hollerado and guest starring Wade MacNeil of Gallows/Alexisonfire as the priest who helps bid Mabu her final adieu, the video is the perfect sendoff for a car that held so many memories for Babcock. Speaking of memories, Stefan actually came in second place in the demolition derby that day!

SPIN first premiered “Guilt Trip” back in February, calling it full of “glorious shout-alongs, beefy riffs, bursts of feedback and furious energy.” The song is the massive opening track to PUP’s self-titled debut album produced by Dave Schiffman (The Bronx, Weezer, Nine Inch Nails). Since it’s April release, the rave reviews have continued to flood in; Noisey calls it “a perfect ten” and are currently sponsoring the bands fall headlining tour; BrooklynVegan claims it’s “catchy, anthemic and raw as hell”, Stereogum named PUP one of their Bands To Watch and Consequence Of Sound declare in their review that “PUP make punk rock effortless.”

Tour Dates:

Tues Oct 7 – Minneapolis, MN – Triple Rock
Weds Oct 8 – Winnipeg, MB – Windsor Arms
Thurs Oct 9 – Saskatoon, SK – Amigos
Fri Oct 10 – Calgary, AB – Broken City
Sat Oct 11 – Edmonton, AB – Mercer (Up + Down Music Festival)
Mon Oct 13 – Vancouver, BC – Fox Cabaret
Tues Oct 14 – Seattle, WA – El Corazon
Weds Oct 15 – Portland, OR – Slabtown
Fri Oct 17 – San Francisco, CA – Brick & Mortar
Sat Oct 18 – Los Angeles, CA – Culture Collide Festival
Mon Oct 20 – San Diego, CA – Casbah
Tues Oct 21 – Phoenix, AZ – Rhythm Room
Thurs Oct 23 – Dallas, TX – Three Links
Fri Oct 24 – Austin, TX – Red 7
Sat Oct 25 – Houston, TX – Fitzgeralds
Weds Oct 29 – Tallahassee, FL – Club Downunder
Thurs Oct 30 – Tampa, FL – Pre-Fest
Fri Oct 31 – Gainesville, FL – The Fest
Mon Nov 3 – Cincinnati, OH – MOTR Pub
Tues Nov 4 – Pittsburgh, PA – Brillobox
Weds Nov 5 – Washington, D.C. – DC9
Thurs Nov 6 – Philadelphia, PA – Barbary
Fri Nov 7 – New York City, NY – Mercury Lounge
Sat Nov 8 – Boston, MA – Brighton Music Hall
Sun Nov 9 – Hoboken, NJ – Steven’s Institute of Technology / Jacobus Lounge
Thurs Nov 13 – St. Catherine’s, ON – Detour Music Hall
Fri Nov 14 – Barrie, ON – The Clarkson Pub
Sat Nov 15 – Toronto, ON – Lee’s Palace
Fri Nov 28 – Kingston, ON – The Grad Club
Fri Dec 19 – Buffalo, NY – The Waiting Room
Sun Dec 20 – Rochester, NY – Bug Jar

w/ The Flatliners:
Thurs Dec 11 – London, ON – Call The Office
Sat Dec 13 – Ottawa, ON – Ritual
Sun Dec 14 – Montreal, QC – Les Foufounes Electriques

Topics:

, , , ,