17 North Parade paying homage to Gregory Isaacs and Sugar Minott with two Anthology releases

Music News | Sep 22nd, 2011

No Image
Sorry Folks, No Image Is Here.

After the passing of two iconic reggae artists last year – Gregory Isaacs (July 15,1951–October 25, 2010) and Sugar Minott (May 25, 1956–July 10, 2010) – 17 North Parade, the vintage imprint of VP Records, pays homage to the artists by capturing the essence of their music on two Reggae Anthology releases – Sugar Minott’s Hard Time Pressure (Oct 18) and Gregory Isaacs’ The Ruler 1972-1990 (Oct 24). Each collection contains 2 CDs and bonus DVD along with original deluxe packaging that includes extensive liner notes and exclusive archival footage and photos.

On October 18th, 17 North Parade will release Sugar Minott’s Reggae Anthology: Hard Time Pressure, highlighting his illustrious recording career that bridged three major eras in reggae: from Studio One to lover’s rock and to the digital dancehall era (where he earned the moniker Godfather of Dancehall). The late singer, producer and sound-system engineer made an inevitable mark on the genre with over 60 albums and cherished anthems including “Herbsman Hustling,” “No Vacancy,” “Good Thing Going” and “Never Gonna Give Up Jah.” The double-disc 36-track set is also accompanied with treasured live video footage of Sugar Minott performing at JapanSplash concert in 1986.

Check out a clip from Sugar Minott’s Hard Time Pressure bonus DVD:

Born Lincoln Barrington Minott, Sugar possessed multiple musical talents. The Jamaican native was a prolific songwriter and singer and provided blueprints for the rise of the contemporary dancehall style, where he was equally influential as a producer and his extraordinarily popular sound system and company, Youthman Promotions, that helped launch numerous new djs and artists into the limelight. He worked with Little John, Junior Reid, Tenor Saw, Nitty Gritty, Garnet Silk, Tony Rebel and Johnny Osbourne (to name a few).

1. My Love Is True
2. Hard Time Pressure
3. River Jordan
4. Never Gonna Give Jah Up
5. Good Thing Going
6. Never Too Young
7. In The Residence
8. Babylon
9. No Vacancy
10. Ghetto-ology
11. Jah Jah Children
12. Man Hungry
13. Rome
14. The People Got To Know
15. Ghetto Youths
16. Loving Jah
17. Simple As That
18. Christmas Time

1. Lover’s Rock
2. Sandy
3. Show Me That You Love Me Girl
4. You’ve Lost It
5. Penny For My Song
6. Now We Know
7. African Girl
8. All Kinda People
9. Easy Squeeze
10. Slice Of The Cake
11. Informer
12. Feel The Rhythm
13. Old King Cole
14. Buy Off The Bar
15. International Herb
16. Herbman Hustling
17. Devil’s Pickney
18. Rub A Dub Sound

1. Live in Concert filmed in Japan 1986
Total Running Time: 23:42

Here’s information on the Gregory Isaacs release:

On October 24th, 2011, 17 North Parade commemorates the life and music of Gregory Isaacs with Reggae Anthology: The Ruler 1972-1990, an extensive 40-track collection of Isaacs’ timeless hits, plus a special bonus DVD featuring the iconic reggae veteran singing feverously on stage at The Brixton Academy in 1984. The extraordinary set also features detailed liner notes and rare photographs of Gregory Isaacs during his prime.

Gregory Isaacs, dubbed “The Cool Ruler” for his trademark smoothness and wistful crooning matched with a rebel demeanor and dapper style, was a pivotal pioneer of lovers’ rock music and also created some of the most timeless roots and dancehall anthems throughout his 40-year career. During the 1970s and 1980s, he pumped out album after album with a massive string of hits, including “My Only Lover,” “Let’s Dance,” “Soon Forward” and “Night Nurse.” He even made a small cameo in the classic 1978 reggae film Rockers as the locksmith and later performed his song “Slave Master.” He continued to tour across the globe and record throughout the 1990s. This Reggae Anthology chronicles his most crucial hits from 1972-1990 and exudes the essence of this innovative lyricist and exemplifies why he is known The Ruler.

Check out footage from Gregory’s Isaacs Reggae Anthology: The Ruler 1972-1990 Bonus DVD:

1. My Only Lover
2. Do You Ever
3. All I Have Is Love
4. Lonely Soldier
5. Love Is Overdue
6. Never Be Ungrateful
7. Ba Da
8. The Sun Shines For Me
9. Set The Captives Free
10. My Religion
11. Philistines
12. My Number One
13. Tumbling Tears6
14. Special Guest
15. Border
16. Storm
17. Mr. Cop (Extended Mix)
18. Sister Love (Extra Special)
19. My Time
20. Slave Master (Live)

1. Let’s Dance
2. John Public
3. Soon Forward
4. Tune In
5. Top Ten
6. Permanent Lover
7. Front Door
8. If I Don’t Have You
9. Night Nurse
10. Private Secretary
11. Let Off Sup’m
12. Private Beach Party
13. Victim
14. One Man Against The World
15. Rumors
16. Red Rose For Gregory
17. Big All Around featuring Dennis Brown
18. Jealousy featuring Jimmy Cliff
19. My Native Woman
20. Too Good To Be True

1. Live performance – Brixton Academy 1984

FUN FACT: Sugar Minott and Gregory Isaacs were long-time friends and teamed up professionally in 1986 for a split LP entitled, Double Dose, which they co-produced and recorded in Tuff Gong Studios, Dynamic Sounds and Music Mountain.


, , , , , , ,