Ska Is Dead presents: The Young Guns Tour 2011

Music News | By on Feb 2nd, 2011

In 2004, The Ska Is Dead Tour was created to help reinvigorate a genre and a scene that was much loved by its fans, but often dismissed by the mainstream media. The first tour brought together bands on the forefront of the genre (Big D, Catch 22, Mustard Plug, The Planet Smashers), and proved that ska was very much still alive.

Since that initial spark, Ska is Dead has organized hundreds of shows in North America, Europe, and Australia, involving some of the best bands in the genre, (Streetlight Manifesto, Voodoo Glow Skulls, Bomb the Music Industry, The Toasters, etc.) Ska is Dead has gone on to release a CD compilation on Asian Man records, a 7” record series and co-sponsored the East Coast “Ska Massive” and “Skanksgiving” events.

In 2011 The Ska is Dead tour continues this tradition by sponsoring the Young Guns 2011 Tour. The Young Guns tour spotlights the best of the new generation of bands including Detroit’s We Are the Union and New York City’s The Forthrights and will be teaming up on select dates with the best up and coming bands in the American scene, including Nashville’s Stuck Lucky (4/15-4/22), Boston’s Brunt of It (4/23-4/28), NYC’s The Fad (4/19-4/27), and Indiana’s Green Room Rockers (4/13 & 5/1) among others.

Wed. April 13 – Indianapolis, IN – The Hoosier Dome
Thurs. April 14 – Cincinnati, OH – TBA
Fri. April 15 – Nashville, TN – The Muse
Sat. April 16 – New Orleans, LA – Block Party 2011
Sun. April 17 – Atlanta, GA – The Masquerade
Mon. April 18 – Columbia, SC – New Brooklyn Tavern
Tues. April 19 Norfolk, VA – Jewish Mother
Wed. April 20 – Richmond, VA – The Canal Club
Thurs. April 21 Philadelphia, PA – The Ox
Fri. April 22 – Garden City, NY – Ethical Humanist Center
Sat. April 23 (1pm) – Boston, MA – Middle East
Sat. April 23 (6pm) – Hamden, CT – The Space
Tues. April 26 – Bethpage, NY – Mr. Beery’s
Weds. April 27 – Asbury Park, NJ – Asbury Lanes
Thurs. April 28 – Syracuse, NY – Funk N’ Waffles
Fri. April 29 – Cleveland, OH – TBA
Sat. April 30 – Lansing, MI – Mac’s Bar
Sun. May 1 – Chicago, IL – TBA

For more, visit www.skaisdead.com and www.facebook.com/skaisdead

Topics:

, , , , , , , , ,