Johnny Cash- The Man, His World, His Music

DVD Reviews | Apr 2nd, 2005

No Image
Sorry Folks, No Image Is Here.

Starring Johnny Cash, June Carter, Carl Perkins, Bob Dylan
Written By:
Directed By: Bob Elfstrom
Studio: BMG
Buy on link

I started to listen to Johnny Cash right before he passed away. Of course, it started with the song Ring of Fire and then eventually I decided to listen to his other songs. Now I can’t stop listening to his music. Still debating whether or not he’s a country musician or not. Rockabilly? I guess it’s a crossover between the two. I don’t know, I like the music and that’s all that matters.

This DVD is an old documentary that got released on VHS a few years back. It was filmed between 1968-1969 and follows Cash around tour, footage of him visiting his hometown, and stuff backstage. There’s concert footage at reservations, prisons, and I think one other place, I guess just on a normal stage haha. June Carter, Johnny Cash’s wife, joined in on some songs. Cash played some of the classics like Ring of Fire, Folsom Prison, and Remember the Alamo.

The footage backstage was cool because he was taking the time out of his busy schedule to listen to a young guy sing his folk music. And then had some record label people listen to his music as well! You can tell he was a nice, down to earth guy. The hometown footage was great to see, and he told stories from his past as he went past certain places.

I liked how much he was into Native American culture a lot. He said on stage he had a little bit of Indian blood in him. But his heart was Native American 100%. Something along those lines but I feel the same way. I’m like 1/8 Native American or some crap like that. But it’s the one nationality I care for the most. There’s footage of Cash getting a tour of Wounded Knee and that inspired him to write the song “Bigfoot.” Plus he performed in front of a bunch of Native Americans on a Reservation, and sang the Ballad of Ira Hayes.

Overall, the documentary should have been put all together as a film and not all over the place into different sections. Whoever organized the DVD, didn’t do a very good job of it. Yes, there’s a playall function but the DVD menus are sloppy. But if you never saw this footage before and you’re a Johnny Cash fan, this is worth a look.

– Audio Commentary
– Jukebox

– Track List:
1. Ring Of Fire
2. Land Of Israel
3. Daddy Sang Bass
4. Folsom Prison Blues
5. Five Feet High & Rising
6. Blue Suede Shoes
7. Remember The Alamo
8. Buttering Biscuit Up Tonight
9. Great Speckled Bird
10. Jackson
11. Orange Blossom Special
12. Blistered
13. Ballad Of Ira Hayes
14. Big Foot
15. Were You There When They Crucified My Lord
16. Cisco Clifton’s Fillin’ Station
17. Busted
18. The Last Thing On My Mind
19. Big River
20. Long Black Veil
21. Jackson
22. The Devil To Pay

Dolby Digital 5.1
Dolby Digital 2.0 Audio Commentary



Favorite Scenes: I liked when he performed Ring of Fire, Folsom Prison, and visiting Wounded Knee.
Rating: NR
Running Time: 80 minutes
Extras Rating:
Overall Rating: