The Shins premiere a new track “So Now What” on NPR Music

Music News | Jun 20th, 2014

Wish I Was Here

The Shins have Zach Braff to thank for blowing up the way they did. They once again have been featured in another movie of his. They recorded another new song for his latest movie Wish I Was Here called “So Now What,” which exclusively premiered on NPR Music. That song sounds great! The rest of the soundtrack seems like something a bunch of indie hipsters will have a circle jerk for.

The Shins’ “So Now What,” the first taste of new music from the forthcoming Zach Braff-directed film Wish I Was Here, has been unveiled this morning, exclusively via NPR Music. Fans will recall The Shins also being featured on the era-defining soundtrack to Braff’s directorial debut, Garden State, 10 years ago. Pre-order the soundtrack HERE.

Wish I Was Here-Music From The Motion Picture showcases music hand-picked by Braff, including exclusive new songs from Bon Iver and Cat Power + Coldplay in addition to tracks from The Head and the Heart and Hozier. The soundtrack will be available in stores and digitally July 15 and on vinyl August 5.

The original screenplay for Wish I Was Here is by the director and his brother Adam. A success at this year’s Sundance Film Festival, the new movie tells a funny, touching, universal story of what it means to be at a major crossroads as a parent, spouse, and child – all at once. Following the strong emotional response to the movie from preview audiences at word-of-mouth screenings throughout the last few weeks, Focus Features will release Wish I Was Here in select cities on Friday, July 18, expanding to theaters across the country on Friday, July 25.

Wish I Was Here-Music From The Motion Picture tracklisting

1. The Shins – So Now What
2. Gary Jules – Broke Window
3. Radical Face – The Mute
4. Hozier – Cherry Wine (Live)
5. Bon Iver – Holocene
6. Badly Drawn Boy – The Shining
7. Jump, Little Children – Mexico
8. Cat Power & Coldplay – Wish I Was Here
9. Allie Moss – Wait It Out
10. Paul Simon – The Obvious Child
11. Japanese Wallpaper – Breathe In (feat. Wafia)
12. Bon Iver – Heavenly Father
13. Aaron Embry – Raven’s Song
14. The Weepies – Mend
15. The Head and the Heart – No One To Let You Down


, , , , , ,