The Swellers releasing The Light Under Closed Doors on October 29th

Music News | Aug 8th, 2013

No Image
Sorry Folks, No Image Is Here.

Punk band The Swellers announced that they will release their fourth album The Light Under Closed Doors on October 29th via No Sleep Records. The band has premiered the first new song of the album called “Should,” at MTV’s Buzzworthy Blog. Fans can pre-order The Light Under Closed Doors now at

Produced by The Swellers and recorded by Marc Hudson (Saves the Day, Taking Back Sunday) at Rancho Recordo in Fenton, MI and with Mark Michalik (Into It. Over It., Fireworks) in Chicago, IL, The Light Under Closed Doors is a raw collection of ten punk rock sing-alongs that are filled with driving rhythm and infectious choruses. The band’s follow-up to 2012’s EP, Running Out Of Places To Go, strips the band down to their core with a sound that’s pure and honest.

“This record feels a lot different than anything we’ve done,” says drummer Jonathan Diener. “The way the songs were written, the way it was recorded, even the artwork all have this organic feeling about them. We went back to basics and let the songs and emotion do the talking for us.”

“The feeling of writing and recording our EP was incredible, so we wanted to do something similar for this record,” adds vocalist/guitarist Nick Diener. “You can nod your head through the whole thing. Marc Hudson did an amazing job capturing what I feel is the first record that sounds like us in a live setting. Very real. This is a great record to introduce ourselves to any new music fan who might have missed us, and a great reintroduction to anyone aware of The Swellers. I think our fans have grown with us, which is a really cool thing.”

After a few frustrating years of label changes, which led to the release of their DIY EP Running Out Of Places To Go, The Swellers return reinvigorated on their No Sleep Records debut, which is packed with highly memorable tracks like “Should,” “Becoming Self-Aware,” “High/Low” and “Big Hearts,” that speak directly to fans with an open heart about growing up, learning from your mistakes and moving forward, something the band has a lot of experience with lately.

“I think lyrically this may be our most relatable record,” says Jonathan. “It’s about readjusting and finding your place in the world. It’s one hell of an awkward adventure we all go through.”

The Swellers will head to Brazil with Story of the Year for a handful of dates in August, before returning to the U.S. for a house show tour and a small intimate album release shows in October and November. Visit for more information.

Keep up with The Swellers at for news and updates..

The Light Under Closed Doors Tracklist:
1. Should
2. Big Hearts
3. Got Social
4. High/Low
5. Great Lakes State
6. Becoming Self-Aware
7. Friends Again (We Can’t Be)
8. Designated Driver
9. Favorite Tune
10. Call It A Night


, ,