The Vibrators Celebrate 37 Years with New CD Release “On The Guest List”

Music News | Mar 30th, 2013

No Image
Sorry Folks, No Image Is Here.

The Vibrators are celebrating 37 years and are releasing “On The Guest List” on Cleopatra Records on May 7th. The album will feature new songs written by founding Vibrators members Knox and Eddie and bassist Pete. The album was engineered by original Vibrators bassist Pat Collier. The album will also feature special guest appearances by members of Supersuckers, MC5, UK Subs, The Damned, The Stranglers, The Dickies and more!

Knox explains the origins behind the band’s new album, “The Vibrators’ drummer, Eddie, called me towards the end of 2011 and wanted me to come up with songs for a new Vibrators album. This would be the band’s 17th studio album of new songs, plus three old favorites. The idea was for us to perform the tracks and then guest artists would play an instrument or sing back-up vocals. The band duly went into Perry Vale Studios (owned by Vibrators original bass player Pat Collier) in March 2012 and spent a week or so producing tracks with myself and Pete (bass) singing the lead vocals. Over the years, the band has done a lot of recording with Pat so it all proceeded very well. Mixes of the songs were then sent off to various musicians either we knew (Chris Spedding, Hugh Cornwell, Campino, Leonard Graves Phillips, Walter Lure and Brian James) and others to see if they’d be interested in contributing to being ‘On The Guest List’ and this is the result.”

With a career lasting 37 years, vocalist/guitarist Ian “Knox” Carnochan, bassist Pat Collier, guitarist John Ellis and drummer Eddie originally formed the Vibrators in February 1976, and their first gig was supporting The Stranglers at Homsey Art College in North London. They supported The Sex Pistols at the 100 club and were one of the bands playing at the now legendary 100 Club Punk Festival, where along with doing their own set they supported guitar hero Chris Spedding. Chris, in turn, recommended the band to his then record label RAK. In early 1977, the band signed with Epic Records and supported Iggy Pop (with David Bowie on keyboards) on a UK tour. Their classic single “Baby Baby”, followed by their first album ‘Pure Mania’ which spent five weeks in the UK Top 75, peaked at number 49. Through the years, after a number of member changes, and numerous critically acclaimed, teeth gnashing, gob smashing releases, in March 2010 the Vibrators returned to being a three-piece: Knox (guitar/vocals), Pete (bass) and Eddie (drums). In their long career the Vibrators have toured with the likes of Iggy Pop, Ian Hunter, The Flaming Groovies, Die Toten Hosen, and have had their songs covered by The Exploited, UK Subs, GBH, REM, Die Toten Hosen, to name but a few. In 2010 the band did more than 130 gigs! Now in 2013, the Vibrators celebrate 37 years of making records and touring heavily with the release of ‘On The Guest List’. Get ready for many more years of PURE PUNK MANIA!

Says bassist Pete, “Making the album has been an exciting experience. We recorded our parts in London with Pat Collier and sent the tracks to the US where guest artists recorded their parts without any input from us. To collaborate this way is risky because, we as a band and songwriters, can have different views on how the songs should sound from the artist who adds their parts to our songs. But hearing the finished album, we are happy with the finished songs. Well done to all our guests.”

Tracks include:
“View From My Cadillac” featuring Walter Lure (The Heartbreakers)
“2nd Skin” featuring Chris Spedding
“Automatic Lover” featuring Ty Segal
“Every Dog” featuring Brian James (The Damned)
“Prisoner In The Mirror” featuring Wayne Kramer (MC5)
“Turn Up The Heat” featuring Tomomi Nabana (Detroit Seven)
“Rain To Town” featuring Hugh Cornwell (The Stranglers)
“Baby Baby” featuring Campino (Die Toten Hosen)
“Birdland Is Closed” featuring Ross The Boss (The Dictators)
“One More” featuring Tony Lovato (Mest)
“My Stalker” featuring Eddie Spaghetti & Dan “Thunder” Bolton (Supersuckers)
“Rock ‘n’ Roll Clown” featuring Bill Davis (Dash Rip Rock)
“The Ohio” featuring Nicky Garratt (UK Subs)
“Whips And Furs” featuring Leonard Graves Phillips & Stan Lee (The Dickies)
“Long Beach Police” featuring James Donovan & Lome Behrman (The Dead Tricks)
“Voodoo Eye” featuring Mickey Finn (Cold Blue Rebels)

Says Eddie, “Having completed the album there was a sense of dread that the guests would mess it up, but the finished result met with great approval. As usual, Knox’s songs were all great and he is always open to ideas and other people’s interpretations, so the recording was great fun. Pat always has an innate understanding of what we’re after and gives his time and ideas freely. Then of course Pete is a superb player and singer. What more could you ask for!”

In support of the release of ‘On The Guest List’ a worldwide tour has been scheduled throughout 2013 with stops in the States during the months of September and October. In closing Knox has this to impart, “I’d like to thank all of the people involved in the project including the people who turned us down – until next time!”

For more information, visit


, , ,